Local News

Both Mayors Unopposed in Primary

(La Porte, IN) - The filing deadline for candidates in the May primary has passed with La Porte Mayor Tom Dermody running unopposed for the republican nomination.


The only democrat in the primary race is Ron Zimmer, who was defeated for the party nomination in a landslide by then mayor Kathy Chroback in 2011.


Dermody, who’s seeking a second term, is a former five term state representative and once a member of the La Porte School Board.


There are five candidates seeking the democrat party nomination for mayor in Michigan City.  They are former mayor Ron Meer, city council members Angie Nelson Deuitch and Michael Mack along with former city councilman Johnny Stimley and La Porte County Councilman Mark Yagelski.


Michigan City Mayor Duane Parry is running unopposed in the primary for the republican nomination.  Mike Walker is running for mayor as a libertarian.


Meer was seeking a third term when defeated by Parry in 2019 by less than 100 votes.  


The filing deadline expired today at 12 p.m. 

Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores