Local News

All New Faces in Party Ranks

(La Porte County, IN) - The Democrat Party in La Porte County is now under totally new leadership. For about two months now, the party has had a new Chairman, Angie Henzman of Michigan City. 


Wednesday night, the party, during a caucus of precinct committeepersons countywide, elected the rest of its officers.


Bryant Dabney, a City Councilman in Michigan City, was elected Party Vice Chairman.   Corey Campbell was elected Treasurer and Izabelle Galvin was chosen as Secretary.


Doctor Vidya Kora, the former Democrat Party chairman and all other party officers, resigned following a near-Republican sweep in La Porte County in the November election.


Some Republicans have described the party as in disarray.


Henzman, though, said the resignations were voluntary and views the changes within the party as a “new day.”   


“So people feel like it’s a very dark time and I feel like it’s a time that we have great opportunity to create and to building something. I’m excited about it,” she said. 


Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores