Local News

Memorial Scholarship Recipients Named

(La Porte County, IN) - Three La Porte County students have received scholarships in honor of a fallen police officer.


The recipients are Alexis Becker, a 2022 graduate of La Porte High School, and Roman Piergalski and Nicholas Boyd, both recent graduates of New Prairie High School.


According to the La Porte County Sheriff’s Office, Becker will be attending Indiana University and plans to major in psychology. Piergalski intends to major in marine biology at Nova Southeastern University. Boyd will be attending Butler University and plans to major in marketing. 


The scholarships are in memory of Patrolman Neil Thompson, killed in the line of duty on September 21, 1980. He is the only La Porte County Sheriff’s Office member to be killed while in uniform.


His death resulted from a stolen ambulance ramming his police vehicle during a pursuit.


The scholarships are for sons and daughters of Sheriff’s Office employees who continue their education beyond high school at a college or university. 


Further information about the scholarships can be found at https://uflc.net or by calling (219) 879-0327 or emailing unity@uflc.net

Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores