Local News

Life Saving Officers Honored

(La Porte, IN) - Five police officers from La Porte have been recognized for life saving efforts.  Police Chief Paul Brettin said the officers went “above and beyond” to save lives in danger in separate incidents over the past several months. 


The officers honored were Det. Sgt. Victor Aguilar, Officer Marcos Loza, Officer Jared Schaefer, Cpl. Joe Toth and Officer Joshua Leonhardt.  Also featured in the picture taken in front of the police station are Commissioners Brian Chalik and Terry Scherer along with Chief Brettin.


The officers were involved in saving lives by doing things like talking a person with a gun out of committing suicide and successfully performing CPR on a drug overdose victim.

Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores