Local News

Trump Supporters Now Control Local GOP

(La Porte, IN) - Supporters of former President Donald Trump are now in charge of the La Porte County Republican Party.  Allen Stevens of Hanna after elected party chairman said one of the things he wants to accomplish is make Trump supporters feel welcome to get involved with the party.


Stevens won by a close to three to one margin over Dan Granquist.  Mitch Feikes, the LaPorte County Republican Party Chairman for the past three-years, did not run.


Trump supporters Lisa Pierzakowski, Mike Rosenbaum and Adam Koronka were elected Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary over each of the incumbents also by wide margins.  Pierzakowski is the Center Township Trustee while Rosenbaum is on the La Porte County Council.  Koronka is a member of the La Porte County Plan Commission and the La Porte County Board of Zoning Appeals.  


Stevens said one of his goals is extending an olive branch to Trump supporters who might have felt unwelcome by previous establishment members of the party.  Stevens is also looking to retain traditional members of the party who might feel disenfranchised now.  “There’s room for everybody here,” he said.


Another top priority for Stevens is recruiting African-Americans and Hispanics more aggressively than in the past.  “Their morals, their values and their viewpoints align with the Republican Party.  We just haven’t reached out to them,” he said.


Stevens was a precinct committeeperson for eight-years prior to being elected Chairman.  He’s also president of the South County Community Coalition and Hanna Lions Club.


Stevens said majority support for Trump by voters here was probably a factor in the landslide by local Republican candidates in November but felt the message from the party also made a difference.



Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores