Local News

New La Porte Elected Officials Sworn In

(La Porte, IN) - A handful of newly-elected LaPorte County officials were sworn into office Thursday afternoon.  Usually, officials take their oath in front of many onlookers at the County building’s meeting room.  Due to coronavirus concerns, the event this year took place in the courtroom of Judge Tom Alavizos.


Newly-elected County Auditor Tim Stabosz was one of the participants. "It's a very weighty experience," he said afterward. "It's a beautiful courtroom, and it gives the weight and solemnity of the moment and the importance of the duties."


Stabosz said the historic setting, for him, drove home the significance of the task he’s been elected to.  "I am ready," he said, "and I am absolutely comitted to securing and protecting the assets-- the flow of the funds, the money coming in and the money going out-- protecting the taxpayers, the citizens of LaPorte County."


County Commissioner Joe Haney, Recorder Ela Bilderback, Clerk Heather Stevens, and Coroner Lynn Swanson were among the others sworn in Thursday.

Weather Center

High School Scoreboard

Sports Scores